Fri. May 24th, 2024

Accra, Dec. 10, GNA- President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, presidential candidate of the New Patriotic Party, has been elected the Eighth President of Ghana’s Fourth Republic.
Mrs Jean Mensa, the Chairperson of the Electoral Commission who is also the Returning Officer for the presidential elections declared Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, President-Elect, at a press briefing on Wednesday.
She said at the end of the polls President Akufo-Addo secured 6,730,413 representing 51.3 per cent of the total vote cast which is 13, 434574 with 79 percent turnout.
President Akufo-Addo’s main challenger, Former president John Dramani Mahama, of the National Democratic Congress, polled 6,214,889 representing 47.4 per cent of the total vote cast.
Mr Christian Kwabena Andrews of the Ghana Union Movement obtained 105,565 being 0.805 per cent of the total valid votes cast, Mr Ivor Kobina Greenstreet of the Conventions Peoples Party obtained 12,215 being 0.093 per cent of the total valid votes cast, Madam Akua Donkor of the Ghana Freedom Party obtained 5,575 being 0.042 per cent of the total valid votes cast,
Mr Henry Herbert Lartey of the Great Consolidated Popular Party had 3,574 being 0.027 per cent of the total valid votes cast, Mr Hassan Ayariga of the All People’s Congress got 7,140 being 0.054 per cent, Mr Percival Kofi Akpaloo of the Liberal Party of Ghana obtained 7,690 being 0.059 per cent.
Mr David Asibi Apasera of the People’s National Convention obtained 10,887 being 0.083 percent, Madam Brigitte Akosua Dzogbenuku of the Progressive People’s Party obtained 6,848 representing 0.052 per cent , Nana Konadu Agyeman-Rawlings of the National Democratic Party obtained 6,612 being 0.50 per cent and Mr Alfred Kwame Asiedu Walker, an Independent candidate obtained 9,703 being 0.074 per cent .
Mrs Mensa said the election results declared excluded that of the Techiman South Constituency, with a voter population of 128,018, explaining that the results in that constituency were being contested.
“As such collation is not complete. The difference between the total number of votes between by the first and second candidates is 515,524 votes. Even if we added the said number to the results of the 2nd placed candidate, it would not change the outcome of the Presidential Election. Hence our declaration of the 2020 results without that of Techiman South,” she said.
“If we were to add the results from Techiman South Constituency, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo would obtain 50.8per cents of the votes and John Dramani Mahama, would obtain 47.873 per cent of the votes”.
Mrs Mensa noted that the Commission had aimed at delivering the results 24 hours after the election, but that could not be achieved, saying “We encountered a few challenges, including unexpected rains”.
She described the election process as highly successful and attributed it to the introduction of reforms in the Commission, including the deployment of new Biometric Voter Management System, procuring and deploying robust equipment and devices. Some dignitaries at the declaration were Madam Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, former President of Liberia and Leader of ECOWAS Observers Mission, Madam Stephanie S. Sullivan, the United States of America Ambassador to Ghana and Head of the European Union Delegation to Ghana, Madam Diana Acconcia.