Wed. May 22nd, 2024

 DEC. 07, 2020

By A.B. Kafui Kanyi/Albert Oppong-Ansah, GNA

Accra, Dec. 07, GNA- Voting to elect the occupant of the Jubilee House, the seat of government and 275 members parliament for the next four years, has ended peacefully across the country at 1700 hours.

Sorting and counting of ballots is the next stage of the electoral process ahead of the announcement of results.

Polls opened from 0700hours to 1700hours in 38,622 polling stations in all the 275 constituencies nationwide.

The record of 12 persons contesting for the lone presidential slot in Election 2020 will go down in Ghana’s electoral history as the biggest slate of candidates since the country began the practice of democracy.

The candidate who secures 50 per cent plus one eligible in the Presidential contest will be the eight President of the Fourth Republic.

The candidates are: President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo of the New Patriotic Party, Former President John Dramani Mahama, National Democratic Congress, Mr Christian Kwabena Andrews, of the Ghana Union Party, and Madam Brigitte Akosua Dzogbenuku of the Progressive People’s Party.

Others are; Madam Akua Donkor of the Ghana Freedom Party, Nana Konadu Agyemang-Rawlings of the National Democratic Party, Dr Hassan Ayariga of All People’s Congress, Mr Ivor Kobina Greenstreet of the Convention People’s Party.

The rest are; Mr Henry Herbert Lartey of Great Consolidated Popular Party, Mr Percival Kofi Akpaloo, Liberal Party of Ghana, Mr Alfred Kwame Walker, an independent candidate, and Mr David Asibi Ayindenaba Apasera of the People’s National Convention.

Nine Hundred and fourteen Parliamentary candidates are vying for the 275 seats.

The exercise was largely successful with strict observance of the Covid-19 protocols and isolated incidents of irregularities.