Fri. May 24th, 2024

By Samuel Dodoo

    Accra, Dec. 8, GNA – Edwin Nii Lante Vandepuye, the National Democratic Congress (NDC) Member of Parliament for Odododiodoo has retained the seat.

    He polled 41,446 to beat his main contestant; Nii Lante Bannerman of the New Patriotic Party (NPP), who had 34,887 votes.

    Mr Ebenezer Otoo of the Ghana Union Movement (GUM) polled 359 votes and Mr Issaka Sampson of the Convention People’s Party (CPP) had 301 votes.

    In the presidential election, former President John Dramani Mahama polled 42,636 votes while President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo had 33,896 votes.

    Others were Mr Christian Kwabena Andrews of GUM, 320 votes, Mr Kwabena Greenstreet of the CPP, 46,  Ekua Donkor, Ghana Freedom Party (GFP), 14, and Mr Henry Lartey, Ghana Consolidated Popular Party, six.

    Mr Kofi Akpaloo 14 votes, Mr Hassan Ayariga, 18,  Madam Bridget Dzekpenuku of the PPP, 12, Mr David Akpasere, PNC, four votes, Nana Konadu Agyemang, NDP, 13, and Mr Alfred Kwame Asiedu, Independent Candidate, nine votes. 

    I,343 ballots were rejected.

    Mr Eric Boadi Okyere, the District Officer of the Electoral Commission, expressed gratitude to the political parties and the security services for their support to ensure a successful election.

    Mr Sammy Laryea, an Election Director of the NDC, thanked the electorate for their commitment to making the Party emerge victorious despite the few disturbances recorded.