Fri. May 24th, 2024

By Morkporkpor Anku

Accra, Dec. 7, GNA – Voting commenced smoothly at the St. Justin Anglican Primary and JHS polling stations 1, 2, 3 in the Anyaa Sowutuom Constituency.

With the electoral materials arriving on time,  the polls opened at exactly 0700 hours with the observance of all the COVID-19 protocols.

Adequate security has been provided  at the three centres with all the political party agents present.

There were  queues at all the three Centres.

A total of 489 eligible voters are expected to cast their ballot at Centre 1, while 508 are to vote in Centre 2.

Mr George Anim,  Presiding Officer at Centre 2 told the GNA that there were no challenges at the start of the polls.

Mr Nathaniel  Peprah, the Presiding Officer at Polling Centre  3, said a total of 561 eligible voters are expected to cast their ballot at the Centre.

Madam Gayro Elizabeth, an 80-year old  voter, told the GNA that she decided to cast her ballot for development of her grandchildren, since she was old and could die any moment soon.

Six Parliamentary Candidate are contesting the 2020 General Election at the Anyaa Sowutuom Constituency.

There are:Dr Dickson Adomako Kiss, New Patriotic Party (NPP), Mr Allotey Adotey Emmanuel National Democratic Congress (NDC) and Madam Hannah Naana  Cann, Ghana Union Movement (GUM).

The rest are Madam Joyce Osei Owusu Larbie Convention People’s Party (CPP), Mr Samuel Afriyie Owusu, Labour Party of Ghana (LPG), Mr Akins Synper, People’s National Convention (PNC).

The Voter population for the Anyaa Sowutuom Constituency stands at 135,874.